Board of Commissioners

The Joint Water Commission (JWC) is run by a board of 12 Commissioners (three Commissioners from each member agency) who are appointed by their respective agencies to serve.  The Commission meets four times per year to approve the budget, receive project updates, and make any major decisions regarding JWC operations.

Commission Committees

Three committees oversee day-to-day JWC operations.

  1. The Management Committee deliberates on policy matters and resource planning.
  2. The Operations Committee provides technical expertise for plant production, transmission, and storage.
  3. The Events and Education Committee oversee public participation, education, and outreach efforts in water science and conservation.

City of Hillsboro Commissioners

John Godsey, a former City of Hillsboro Councilman, has served on the Joint Water Commission and City of Hillsboro Utilities Commission (UC) since 2004. He was appointed Chair of the UC in January 2011, and still holds that position. He also represents the City on the Barney Reservoir Joint Ownership Commission and the Willamette Intake Facilities (WIF) Commission. 

David Judah was appointed to the Joint Water Commission in January 2011. He also serves on the City of Hillsboro Utilities Commission and Budget Committee, and represents the City on the Willamette Water Supply System Commission. Judah worked previously in management and sales for a Forest Grove high-tech company. He is proud of his life-long Hillsboro residency.

Deborah Raber is Hillsboro Water’s newest Commissioner. She was appointed to the Joint Water Commission in February 2017, serves on the City of Hillsboro Utilities Commission, and represents the City on the Regional Water Providers Consortium Board. Raber is a long-time Hillsboro resident and former City of Hillsboro employee.

City of Forest Grove Commissioners

Carl Heisler

Carl Heisler, a former Forest Grove City Councilor, is the longest-serving Commissioner for Forest Grove and the only original JWC Commissioner still serving. He has spent over 30 years helping steer Washington County drinking water plans and policies.

Rod Fuiten

Rod Fuiten, a former Forest Grove City Councilor, has represented Forest Grove as a Joint Water Commissioner since 1995.

Peter Truax

Peter Truax, the current City of Forest Grove Mayor, joined the Joint Water Commission in 2016. He served in the U.S. Army and spent 28 years as a teacher and administrator in Forest Grove schools.

City of Beaverton Commissioners

City of Beaverton Mayor Lacey Beaty

Lacey Beaty was elected Beaverton’s Mayor in 2020. Prior to serving as Mayor, she served for six years on Beaverton City Council. Before joining the City Council, she was an active volunteer for the city’s Visioning Advisory Committee, serving as vice-chair. She is the youngest ever elected official in Beaverton’s history. Mayor Beaty believes in robust community engagement coupled with intentional collaboration across City Council, City Staff, community members and regional partners. She has served on the Joint Water Commission since 2021.


Mark Fagin, a Beaverton City Councilor, has served on the Beaverton City Council since January 2013. Before being elected to Council, Mark was a member of the Beaverton Planning Commission, the Civic Plan Steering Committee and was the founding chairperson for the city’s award-winning Visioning Advisory Committee. Mark has represented Beaverton on the Joint Water Commission since 2013.


Marc San Soucie, a Beaverton City Councilor since 2008, joined the Joint Water Commission in 2008. His background is in computer software development, and he has served as Chair of the Washington County Planning Commission, served on the city’s Planning Commission and the Beaverton Committee for Community Involvement.

Tualatin Valley Water District (TVWD)

Jim Doane

Jim Doane was elected to the Tualatin Valley Water District’s (TVWD) Board of Commissioners in 1998. He is currently serving as the Board’s Acting Secretary and has also held the position of Board President. Doane is a retired professional engineer who specialized in water resource and civil engineering for more than 40 years.

Bernice Bagnall, a 40-year resident and customer of Tualatin Valley Water District (TVWD), has an extensive background in public and private utility financial planning, with a specific focus on rates and oversight. Her 30-year career in utility finance and economics included employment with Pacific Power and Light Co., City of Portland and Clean Water Services. Commissioner Bagnall retired in 2011 as the Chief Financial Officer for TVWD. She also brings an impressive history of leadership in the public sector and water industry, including past board and committee positions with the Oregon Government Finance Officers Association, Oregon Municipal Debt Advisory Commission, American Water Works Association Rates and Charges Committee and the Association of Clean Water Agencies Finance Committee.

Commissioner Bagnall believes that providing exceptional value and principled long-range planning for customers will help build trust and loyalty. This will require finding meaningful ways to measure the effectiveness of programs and finding innovative ways to communicate with customers and leverage partnerships to provide best value for the dollars invested. Commissioner Bagnall was sworn into office of the TVWD Board of Commissioners on September 21, 2016 and elected in May 2017.

Dick Schmidt

Dick Schmidt was elected to TVWD’s Board of Commissioners in 2005 and appointed as a Joint Water Commissioner that same year. Previously, he served four years in the U.S. Navy from 1963-1967 and worked for 30 years in laboratories specializing in water, wastewater and stormwater. Now retired, Schmidt spent nearly 20 years at the City of Portland where he worked as an analyst in the Water Pollution Control Lab, as a code specialist in the Office of Sustainable Development and as a stormwater permit manager in the Bureau of Environmental Services.

JWC General Manager

Niki Iverson, Hillsboro Water Department Director, also serves as General Manager for the Joint Water Commission (JWC) and the Barney Reservoir Joint Ownership Commission (BRJOC). Hillsboro has served as managing agency for the JWC and BRJOC since the inception of both Commissions and provides management and staff for all operations.